Author Topic: Andonstar AD246S-M or AD407?  (Read 328 times)

Offline midixTopic starter

• Contributor
Andonstar AD246S-M or AD407?
« on: October 03, 2024, 04:46:17 pm »
I have had weak vision since birth. I'm a programmer; electronics is a hobby. I'm not soldering any SMD but just PCBs for plugging in Arduino modules and also doing occasional other small repairs and mods (headphone jacks etc.).

Most folks would do well enough with plain magnifying glasses for soldering Arduino-related stuff, and I have a few magnifying glasses, also fixable on a stand. Also, I have dentist-style eyeglasses.

However, focus distance and occasional movement are huge problems. I need to move the glass or lean myself in so close that my soldering iron can get caught by the magnifying glass or my eyepiece. For the eyepiece - a slight head movement, and I lose focus.

So I wanted to buy a "good enough" digital microscope. I found three affordable options under 200 EUR.

AD246S-M
153 EUR

AD407
153 EUR

AD208
80 EUR

As I understand, AD208 is an old model with a 2MP camera, so I'd better avoid that, right? However, it has focus range specified 1cm-16cm. Soldering at 16cm might be OK, if only the magnification is good enough at that distance.

AD407 says only Focus range: Minimum 5cm. No maximum specified! Why...
AD246S-M - focus range depends on the lens and can be up to 32cm.

But the pricing of AD246S-M and AD407 confuses me. Why do they both cost the same if AD246S-M seems to offer so much more?
AD246S-M has three lenses and a bunch of other bundled stuff. Also, the advertised working distance is larger, which is great to have enough space under it ... unless it is too large, and then I would hold my head too high for sitting and soldering. I don't need the lens for microscopy; not sure about the other two lenses - which one would be the best for soldering.