Author Topic: Analog Discovery 3 or budget bench setup  (Read 3109 times)

Offline hao004Topic starter

Analog Discovery 3 or budget bench setup
« on: June 18, 2024, 01:59:18 pm »
I am a sophomore EE student and I am interested in experimenting with electronics circuits, particularly amplifier circuits and applications. Should I get the Analog Discovery 3 with student discount ($250) or a budget bench setup consisting of Hantek DSO2D10 ($150, being aware of the potential freezing issues) and Korad KA3005D ($50 from taobao)? I would like to start small first with a budget of $250 and see what I am really interested in down the road.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Analog Discovery 3 or budget bench setup
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2024, 02:35:37 pm »
You would need a power supply regardless. AD3 power supply is very limited, I would not rely on it as a main supply.

Otherwise, AD3 is a good value. But if you can get AD2 cheaper, I would consider that too, there are not a whole lot of changes in AD3.
Alex

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2024, 02:45:11 pm »
The Analog Discovery devices are very good for simple lab experiments, but I wouldn't use them for anything with a high voltage/current/power.

You may decide you also need a simple power supply, e.g. dual voltages and/or higher voltages.

Make sure you also understand the maths behind what you are building. When interviewing candidates I wanted to see (1) theoretical knowledge (2) practical demonstration of theory (3) going beyond the course's requirements. The last requires you to set difficult-but-achievable objectives, do them, be able to state what surprised you and what you would do differently next time.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.