Author Topic: A newbie needs some help with my first DSO  (Read 5746 times)

Offline awakephdTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
A newbie needs some help with my first DSO
« on: May 30, 2024, 12:06:57 am »
As the title says, I am a newbie, at least when it comes to DSOs. I'm naught but a self-taught hobbyist when it comes to electronics in general, but I have been using an old analog Tektronix scope for 30+ years - but last night when my long-awaited Siglent SDS804X HD arrived was the first time I've ever even touched a DSO. Obviously, I have a good bit of learning to do, and I promise to do as much as I can via the manual, YouTube tutorials, and the like. But may I please ask a few questions here? Please, please, pretty please?

I'll limit myself to 2 questions to start:

Here's the first question I have after my initial bit of trying out the scope - a question that is generic to DSOs, not specific to this scope. Even after watching several zillion YouTube tutorials (the best ones I've found so far were an 18-video set from Keysight) and playing / experimenting with the scope, I don't really understand what the memory depth is doing for me. The specs say "Record length up to 50Mpts." How do I access those 50 million points? Do I initiate a recording? Is it always recording? Does this allow me to look forward and backward in time through a waveform?