Author Topic: The world from Dave's perspective  (Read 5488 times)

Offline ExcavatoreeTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
The world from Dave's perspective
« on: February 02, 2011, 09:14:30 pm »
Please pardon the non-electronic discussion, but I found this map while searching for something else.   I know it's the same world, but I'm amazed at how different things look with a different orientation.   As an engineer, I know there's no preferred orientation of a sphere hanging in space.  However, I am amazed at how used to the "north up" orientation I am - I was completely unaware of it.

I'm sure Dave and other Southern Hemisphere people have seen this already:

Offline apex

• Regular Contributor
    • Thoughts of a nerd
Re: The world from Dave's perspective
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 09:19:25 pm »
Yes.
Somehow disturbing to see how fixed we are to imagine that the north pole is the top of the world.
apex

Offline PetrosA

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 10:15:15 pm »
Because North IS the top of the world ;) These bozos even forgot to put Antarctica on the map. Musta been drunk...
I miss my home I miss my porch, porch

Offline Longhair

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 10:29:15 pm »
North is the top of the world until the magnetic field changes again, then South will be the top of the world.

Offline TopherTheME

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 10:40:06 pm »
North is the top of the world until the magnetic field changes again, then South will be the top of the world.

The direction the compass needle points only depends on the orientation of the magnet. There is nothing intrinsic about earth's magnetic field which defines "North" or "South".
Don't blame me. I'm the mechanical engineer.

Offline Time

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2011, 12:15:38 am »