Author Topic: BGA Reballing Stencil Warping  (Read 15630 times)

Offline NemoTopic starter

BGA Reballing Stencil Warping
« on: September 03, 2013, 09:57:13 pm »
I am currently working on an FPGA board project and trying to reball an Altera 1506-BGA FPGA as a part of it.

I have purchased a universal B=0.6, P=1.0 stencil from China for this work and tried reballing with it. As soon as I heat up the stencil with the heat gun, the stencil starts warping and frees all the balls (the heated part of the stencil lifts up). I tried lowering the heat gun temperature to see what happens, only to find out that the stencil warps seriously even at only 100 centigrade.

The stencil that I am currently using seems to be a very thin sheet of aluminium (probably less than 0.3mm in thickness).

It is my first time reballing and I am not quite sure if it is normal to have such problems. If anyone has any idea/solutions to this problem, please let me know.

Thank you.

Offline Mike Warren

• Supporter
    • Personal Website
Re: BGA Reballing Stencil Warping
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 10:31:54 pm »
I've never done a reball, but I don't understand why you are applying heat with the stencil in place. I thought the process was to use the stencil to put the solder pates on the pads and then remove the stencil and flow the solder to create the balls.

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 10:38:17 pm »
I've never done a reball, but I don't understand why you are applying heat with the stencil in place. I thought the process was to use the stencil to put the solder pates on the pads and then remove the stencil and flow the solder to create the balls.