Author Topic: Question about Low current Voltage Regulator circuit  (Read 5846 times)

Offline Topband RFTopic starter

• Contributor
Question about Low current Voltage Regulator circuit
« on: September 06, 2012, 08:37:42 am »
I am working on a project that may ( I want it to ) require a voltage regulator circuit. The circuit has been designed to operate at 13 volts DC.. i know 13.8 would be ideal.. but that's not happening. Now please keep in mind I'm a super noob @ all this pieces parts stuff so I'm going to try and Draw & explain very simply what I need (want) to do.. With parts.. and I'm going to attempt the proper schematic symbols ( I hope.. 1st one I ever drew ), as it cant hurt to brush up & learn this stuff too.

From my understanding of the LM387 data sheet it is well suited for low current applications such as mine, which should run between 75mA  +/- 5 mA at the very most & needs to be run at 13 vdc.
I do have a few questions however.

I know I can also use a 2nd LM317 in a current limiting circuit. That may be nice too to protect the active device (2N5109) from running off into oscillations and prevent over current damage. In this particular circuit if its drawing more than 80mA its oscillating and that's no good. Is it possible to use one LM317 to do both functions.. Limit voltage to 13.00 vdc (in my poor attempt at a circuit) as well as limit current draw to 80mA or less? If so.. what actually happens when the LM387 protects from excess current? Does the device pop.. or does the circuits input voltage need to be essentially cycled? Does the LM387 just simply limit the current to say 80mA as the 2N5109  'attempts' to oscillate but never quite gets there due to the current that its asking being limited?