Author Topic: Whatever Happened to Ham Radio?  (Read 263944 times)

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Whatever Happened to Ham Radio?
« Reply #350 on: April 04, 2015, 04:54:36 am »
Whatever Happened to Ham Radio?

It turned into FPV.
Instead of talking to your buddy you fly with him.

The weird people used to play in the MHz band building antennas.

Now the weird people pay with FPV building antennas in the GHz band .
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline economist

• Contributor
« Reply #351 on: April 04, 2015, 05:44:49 am »
Well FWIW people get ham licenses so they can legally transmit on ~400MHz IIRC for longer range FPV stuff.

Exactly. That's what motivated me to get the license. Then, once I was into it, it seemed easiest to just take all three exams at once. So I've been an amateur extra for about a year and have never done anything other than fly RC. Will probably get into it some day when I have more time for another hobby.

Online xrunnerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
« Reply #352 on: July 26, 2015, 11:52:54 am »
Just got this jewel off Ebay. It's a Drake SSR-1 circa 1977ish. I posted the pic in the "What did you buy lately" thread but I'm going to be restoring it to like-new condition so I wanted to post more pics about that here. So far it works pretty well and it's a lot of fun to tune around. It needs basic cleaning and dust removal. It was around a smoker too because I can smell nicotine. Love the green glow, especially in a dark room.  :)

I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

Offline Mechanical Menace

• Super Contributor
« Reply #353 on: July 26, 2015, 12:07:08 pm »
Where would one go for information on ham radio and what can be done with it? Say can you use it for data or just audio? Would a UK Ham licence allow me to communicate with people in say Russia or do different countries have different allowed sections of the spectrum?