Author Topic: VNA for cable characterization  (Read 7218 times)

Offline PinörkelTopic starter

• Contributor
VNA for cable characterization
« on: July 03, 2024, 10:09:01 pm »
Hello,
I am new to RF measurements and would like to perform some high precision cable impedance measurements to characterize some short(0.5m to 2m) 50Ω BNC cables of different types in the MHz and low GHz range.

I read that cable impedance measurements of the required accuracy can be done with a TDR sampler like the Tektronix 7S12 with a respective pulse generator and sampling head. A setup like this should be able to measure the impedance along the cable with an accuracy of +/- 0.1Ω or +/- 1 mρ and a time resolution in the sub nano second range. It should also be possible to do frequency dependent impedance measurements with a suitable milli-ohms-meter like the R&S URV5 with a suitable insertion unit. Unfortunately, both vintage setups are extremely difficult to acquire and I do not have the required bench space and operating knowledge for a suitable sampling oscilloscope. So, I tried to dig into the topic in order to maybe find some kind of measurement setup that could somehow fulfill my needs and stumbled onto vector network analyzers.

It seems that high quality VNAs, like most kind of test equipment, can get ridiculously expensive, but there are also affordable solutions, like the liteVNA 64, which might or might not be sufficient, for what I want to do. However, until now I could not figure out what measurement precision can be expected from a device like the liteVNA 64 with respect to cable impedance and TDR measurements. This is where I hope I can get some answers here.