Author Topic: OpenEMS and far field radiated emissions  (Read 828 times)

Offline KlausKragelundTopic starter

• Contributor
OpenEMS and far field radiated emissions
« on: July 09, 2024, 07:29:15 am »
Hi

I am working on a project, where large currents are running on cables inside a cabinet. We are exceeding the radiated EMI limits.

So I am looking for a way to determine the impact on moving cables around, and the impact of the shielding effectiveness of the cabinet enclosure, for example distance between screws that fix the cover plates to the cabinet.

I have very little experience with OpenEMS, Ansys seems to have an easier flow, but cannot afford Ansys tools.

Is it possible, and if so, how hard is it to do a layout of placement of cables, define a current waveform in the cables, and then getting results that could correlate to a 3m measurement in an anechoic chamber?

Thanks

Klaus

Offline selcuk

• Regular Contributor
Re: OpenEMS and far field radiated emissions
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2024, 08:10:13 am »
If you have necessary equipment, it may be faster to do shielding effectiveness tests on the prototype for a single project. It will take time to have satisfactory results with openEMS. But it can be helpful if you are doing this occasionally.

I don't know how to define current waveforms. But for the cable design you can use FreeCAD to do the layout. There is a good project in the below link to show you the steps from 3D design to EMS simulation:

https://github.com/toammann/Multilayer_SMA2Microstrip

You can enter dimension parameters into spread sheets in FreeCAD. For example you can define variables like "cable_length" or "screw_spacing" in the table, then export your geometry to openEMS and do simulation. Then you edit the "screw_spacing" in FreeCAD and it will update all 3D design with the new parameter. Then you can export and simulate again.

The following users thanked this post: ftg

Offline ftg

• Regular Contributor
    • ftg's RF hax paeg