Author Topic: NanoVNA Custom Software  (Read 504847 times)

Offline jspencerg

• Regular Contributor
Re: NanoVNA Custom Software
« Reply #1900 on: March 14, 2022, 06:26:15 pm »
Re: My goals
I'm interested in the science. I'm studying the theories and applications of EE. Waves were always central to my engineering and science.  Learning about, measuring and controlling EM wave behavior fascinates me. As a hands-on person I've always considered that being able to measure something is a core endeavor.
I'm having fun with it.

Offline joeqsmithTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #1901 on: March 15, 2022, 03:49:08 pm »
The HP8711A seems to have had an upper end of 1.3G.  This makes sense that the data you posted for your Mini-Circuits attenuator was so poor at 6GHz.  I imagine the extra stubs are a problem.   I had no luck finding a clear photo of what it looks like inside. 

I'm studying the theories and applications of EE.
I've been in that same boat for many decades and still know very little about electronics.   There's just not enough time.  :-DD 

Offline jspencerg

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #1902 on: March 15, 2022, 04:13:23 pm »
Re: Learning EE et. al.
The amount to learn just keeps growing too. Plasmonics... Where will this field lead to?
The great thing for me is the availability of learning resources and hands- on experiments I can do while learning.
Having so many experts,  or at least very competent people, on YouTube,  etc sharing and teaching is a huge boost for me.
I'm going to recreate your power circuit for relay using Microcap and then modify for my relay.  It'll be a big learning process all the way.
Do you use RG58 with stranded core for your instrumental connections?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #1903 on: March 15, 2022, 07:05:17 pm »

Offline jspencerg

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #1904 on: March 15, 2022, 09:35:00 pm »
Re: Meaning of vat-15 scan?