Author Topic: Interpreting the SDR recording of a remote control signal  (Read 3062 times)

Offline petertTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Interpreting the SDR recording of a remote control signal
« on: November 06, 2020, 08:22:49 pm »
Hello,

I am a beginner in SDRs, and wanted to have a look at the signal sent from a remote control for a simple RC car. There are only four buttons: drive forward, backward, left or right.

The recorded wavefiles that I captured with SDRPlay (from an RSPduo) can be seen in the attachment. They were captured at 40.68 MHz in AM mode, and generated by pressing the forward button on the remote control two times.

I am a bit surprised there are two channels, is it I/Q? Are they just phase shifted versions of the same signal, or do they have to be combined, to capture the "real" audio from an AM station?

And the main question: I do not recognize the encoding/modulation of the zoomed-in waveform. What could it be?

It seems to be a sine wave that is interrupted regularly, but it does not seem to be phase shift keying. Is it on-off-keying?
« Last Edit: November 06, 2020, 08:36:41 pm by petert »

Offline ConKbot

• Super Contributor
Re: Interpreting the SDR recording of a remote control signal
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2020, 08:04:31 am »
Its just a quadrature pair of sine waves, so presumably it is IQ data and there is some frequency error between the LO and the received signal carrier. No timebase, but comparing the bit period to the wave frequency, it looks like not that much error.
But both are going to 0 at the same time, so yes, it's simple On-off keying. Take the absolute value of each trace, sum them, and you can set a threshold, where above it, the carrier is on, below it, carrier is off, and it will clean up to a binary data stream that hurts the eyes less to decode.

The following users thanked this post: petert

Online RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2020, 09:45:23 am »