Author Topic: AC + DC Bench supply on a budget  (Read 1817 times)

Offline SkilldibopTopic starter

AC + DC Bench supply on a budget
« on: March 05, 2019, 10:15:43 pm »
Hi Folks,

I'm a long suffering noob tinkering in the man cave for years and it's all gone and gotten a bit more serious and I'm starting to need proper toys. I've upgraded to a proper (well hung lo copy) soldering/rework station, and was also looking to treat myself to a bench supply.  I have a couple projects in mind that need low voltage AC and also like the idea for testing PSU builds on "safe" supplies before hooking them up to a full blown mains transformer. Another thing I like to do is mess around with valve state stuff like guitar amplifiers and i figure even if I had a 30V AC source I could bump that up with a transformer to higher voltages if required for testing tube stuff.

I did manage to find one that I think was 0-32V, 5A with both AC and DC output for around £250. But it was on my phone on the train and I lost the page and haven't been able to find it again. Does anyone know of anything similar in the sub £300 budget zone?  0-30V DC bench supplies are everywhere, but ones with both AC and DC seem hard to find, am I looking for a golden unicorn here? 

Also I am very much a home gamer with limited space so not really in the market for any old 2nd hand 3U rackmount gear off Ebay. I was tempted but my work bench would not accommodate! I was also tempted by some nice old CRT scopes too but again, couldn't sacrifice 1/3 of the entire bench just for the scope.

Any help graciously received!

Offline dicky96

• Regular Contributor
    • Learn Electronics Repair
Re: AC + DC Bench supply on a budget
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2019, 10:43:06 pm »