Author Topic: Station choices for 10awg and Connectors  (Read 1542 times)

Offline Ty89mTopic starter

Station choices for 10awg and Connectors
« on: June 21, 2024, 09:08:35 pm »
Hey all,

I'm in the market to upgrade my soldering station and I'd love some feedback on my options given my intended use case.

I'm mainly an RC hobbyist - soldering/tinning 8-14awg wire and bullets/connectors and directly to large tabs on brushless motors. I also dabble in amp and guitar pedal building, but most of my stations have performed well enough on smaller jobs such as these.

I currently run a Xytonic LF3200 120W station, but I'm due to replace the tips and I'm itching to try something new. Obviously my main goals are making quicker work of large gauge wire tinning and connector soldering, so I've picked three stations that would likely fit the bill.

The ADS200 Plus, which I've been meaning to try for a few years now, and see they've released an updated version. Seems to be a great value option with affordable tips.

JBC CD-1BQF. The most expensive option, and likely overkill, but I'm fine with it.

Thermaltronics TMT-2000-S with K series tip. Most affordable option, but could step up to the 9000 series, though it doesn't sound like I'd be missing too much by going with the more affordable 2000 series.

If anyone has direct experience with these systems doing similar soldering jobs, I'd love to hear your feedback/recommendations!

Thanks from a long-time lurker.

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: Station choices for 10awg and Connectors
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2024, 09:44:22 pm »
JBC T245 (official or clone) or Metcal PS5000/5200 (80W).
Thermaltronics is only 40W, will work OK, but not as great as 80W. You'd have to look at some of SDGs older reviews to see how 40W compares to jbc.

Don't bother with ADS200 plus until someone proves it has improved at all.