Author Topic: SMA Sunny Boy SB1700 Solar Inverter  (Read 14305 times)

Offline nukieTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
SMA Sunny Boy SB1700 Solar Inverter
« on: October 17, 2012, 11:58:45 pm »
Hi,
Here's a few pictures of my german made SMA Sunny Boy SB1700 solar inverter. I am not an engineer nor a wizard so my description might be incorrect.

First of all, it's very sturdy and robust unit, no flimsy items here. Being outdoor for almost 2 years in the harsh Australian weather, the paint job is starting to show it's age. No rust attack yet. The front panel cover is secured with 4 stainless hex bolts.

The LCD display is a 16x2, it display various information such as total kW generated in a day(resets when nightfall), current kW, current panels voltage, etc. The display changes every few seconds, if you wish to advance faster to next display you simply knock on the panel.

Once the 4 hex bolts are removed, you can smell the electronics!! so I believe it is definitely IP65 rated. Inside is clean as new. The seal did a good job of insulating the electronics from the environment. After removing the Earth spade connector, I check the enclosure without the front panel, the metal case is very robust.

Here's all the electronics glory with the front panel removed. Yes I am idiot I didn't switch it off.
The system consist of a mainboard which is the switching section and a controller which sits on top of the mainboard. Notice some pins and connectors on the controller board, they are for optional plugin such as networking bluetooth connection.

A quick glance of the circuit board revealed that the conformal coating has been applied by hand.

Unfortunately it wasn't applied sufficiently or not all components are covered properly. So we rely on the IP65 rated enclosure to protect the components.

This is the only board not protected with conformal coating, I believe it's the switch end.

One of the four massive reservoir that supports the switching mosfets above