Author Topic: QA-100 Quantassylm oscilloscope ?  (Read 13975 times)

Offline jefflTopic starter

QA-100 Quantassylm oscilloscope ?
« on: March 05, 2012, 04:14:16 am »
Anyone have this unit?

I'm looking for an oscilloscope and a logic analyzer.  I'm mainly working with PIC24 micro controllers and yes I'm a newbie.  Looking for the tools I would use most.  I know a Rigol DS1102E and Saleae Logic / Logic 16 would also be a good choice.  Just wondering if this unit would be a good choice as an all in one unit.

http://www.quantasylum.com/content/Products/QA100.aspx

Offline T4P

• Super Contributor
    • T4P
Re: QA-100 Quantassylm oscilloscope ?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 05:49:15 am »
Absolutely useless , check the specs .
http://www.quantasylum.com/content/Portals/0/UploadedFiles/QA100%20Compete%20Summary.png
100MSPS means at most 10MHz , and 1Ksps really ? And i see the screenshots , the application looks rather crappy when it comes to clarity , sorry , i'll prefer a rigol over that .
I know it looks decent but really , Rigol DS1052e/DS1102e Or Atten ADS1102CAL .

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/usb-oscilloscope-and-logic-analyzer-93518
I am only buying this saleae LA DSO clone because it has proper logic probes compared to that wimpy 15$ LA only clone version
But really , i am buying this instead for the 16 channel capability ( beats buying 2 8ch logic analyzers and not being sure if they will work in tandem or not )
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/h301-portable-48mhz-usb-digital-oscilloscope-82005
« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 05:52:19 am by Dave.S »

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 05:58:32 am »
A USB scope is not a replacement for a stand-alone scope. The fact you need a computer, and you have to wait for the computer to boot, and then the fact you end up with your test circuit connected to the noisy earth of a computer is not a good combination.  Changing settings on a USB scope is a pain too - you want knobs!