Author Topic: Multimeters  (Read 7710 times)

Offline griffo666Topic starter

Multimeters
« on: January 02, 2012, 12:34:38 pm »
Hi...I really like your reveiws on multimeters.......I have been using a Protek 506 ,With no problems for many years,out in field,,And it has been dropped(without any rubber holster)many times,,Temperature use from frost to 40C..Humidity low to very high...Rain ,,Dust,,Oil ,,Grease,,Solvents...And it is only now showing my abuse..ie: backlight stopped,,continuity beeper stopped(however the short/open display works fine)....The only thing is it is not rated for CAT use...But I fitted a MOV on a set of leads for use to test mains voltages (very infrequent use)....
I wonder if a fluke in the same price range (without rubber holster) can last as long in real life situations.........Can you do a reveiw on meters that handle field work...ie dropping,,chemicals,,temperature change and just general abuse.........Thanks....Jeff

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Multimeters
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 12:58:14 pm »
Does your protek 506 chew threw the battery?

Mine is always running flat.
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline zaoka

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 09:15:28 pm »
You can get brand new Fluke 27 (old version) for around $100, it lasts forever.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2012, 09:59:21 pm »