Author Topic: Ersa i-Con 'Nano' and 'Nano' Mk2 differences?  (Read 1429 times)

Offline analogixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Ersa i-Con 'Nano' and 'Nano' Mk2 differences?
« on: September 12, 2024, 05:28:52 pm »
I'm wondering if I should pull the trigger and get a proper soldering station to replace my soldering iron, and an ESD-safe one at that.
I suppose it should allow me to solder even SMD components (which I've never done before).
i'm a hobbyist, so I neither need (or want to spend on) professional equipment.

Previous discussions here suggest the Ersa i-con Nano over other brands and models. On Ersa's website there's an i-Con Nano Mk2 which I assume is a replacement for the (non Mk2 version).

(image source for 'Nano Mk2': Tequipment)

(image source for original Nano: Amazon.com)

I have no experience with either, and according to the specs they're pretty much the same (correct me if I'm wrong) except for perhaps a new 'tip & turn' tip changing feature. If I can choose between the two (old model and the new 'Mk2'), are there any downsides or improvements I should consider? Do they both accept the same tips?
From the two photos above it seems the older model has a backlit LCD display which the Mk2 doesn't. Is that correct?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2024, 06:59:32 pm by analogix »

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: Ersa i-Con 'Nano' and 'Nano' Mk2 differences?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2024, 09:59:54 pm »
There does not seem to be much info about them other than the tip has the quick connect, which you mentioned.
But you haven't described anything, what is your budget? Intended soldering applications?

icon nano = https://www.tequipment.net/Ersa/i-CON-NANO/Soldering-Stations/
- 80W
- series 102 tips

icon nano mk2 = https://www.tequipment.net/Ersa/i-CON-NANO-MK2/Soldering-Stations/
- 68W
- series 142 tips

Kind of odd they are saying the mk2 has 20% more power but it has less power rating?