Author Topic: BK Precision programmable PFC DC supply VSP 12010 120V/10A Power Supply  (Read 3815 times)

Offline Vietk123Topic starter

• Contributor
I just recently bought a BK Precision programmable PFC DC supply VSP 12010 120V/10A power supply for $40. I went home and try it and only the fan turn on but no light on the led or anywhere except the power button. I figure it might not work when i bought it. My question is are these unit easy to repair. I am planning on opening it and take a look around. What do i have to look out for as far as safety and voltage ? Is this unit worth repairing and can i use it as a power supply for electronic repair? Please help I am a total newbie and would love to learn electronic repair. Thanks in advanced

Offline Zucca

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: BK Precision programmable PFC DC supply VSP 12010 120V/10A Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2016, 08:57:59 am »
Do you want to do repair in the future? This will be a nice experience, but it is not the best "first step" for a beginner...
You are dealing with mains and 120VDC and it is not a simple circuit I assume...

Think twice, triple measure everything, and use the rule "always one hand in your pocket"... Anyway it is all up to you, not to a EEVBlog at the end of the day. It´s your skin not mine...

If you are too scared sell it here at 50$, better to have 10$ in your pocket than to have a bad or dangerous experience.

Anyway open it up and take some pictures... the EE dragons here will give you some further advices..
« Last Edit: August 17, 2016, 10:24:29 am by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca

The following users thanked this post: Vietk123

Offline Andy Watson

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2016, 09:28:06 am »