Author Topic: Peavy amp transistor Replacement  (Read 1610 times)

Offline JordantwinTopic starter

Peavy amp transistor Replacement
« on: January 08, 2020, 05:35:08 am »
Disclaimer: This is my first time posting to a forum so bear with me. I am a fairly new self taught electronics hobbyist . I was recently asked to look at an amp from my small town hockey arena to see if I could fix it.

I have a Peavey Amp that I am currently working on. Model # XR 600F with a 400SC Power module. I need replacement transistors since the ones in it are discontinued.

Attached is the Circuit diagram and parts list. The transistors in question would be Q101, 102 and Q106 and 107 on the circuit diagram. These are 2SC3281D and 2SA1302D (datasheet attached) respectively.

I have already changed:
Resistors: R103,104,111,112,121,122,130,149,156 and 157
Capacitor: C243
Transistors: Q103,104

My questions are:
Would TTA1943 (datasheet attached) be a good replacement or would there be a better option?
If I changed those 4 should I change the other 4 on the other channel?

Thanks for any and all help.

Offline george.b

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Peavy amp transistor Replacement
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 07:21:18 am »
Would TTA1943 (datasheet attached) be a good replacement or would there be a better option?

Yeah, I'd say that's a suitable replacement. Looks like it's close enough, spec-wise. Are you going to use the complementary TTC5200 for replacing the 2SC3281D, too?

If I changed those 4 should I change the other 4 on the other channel?

It looks like that amp can be used in a bridge configuration, yes? I think you might get higher crossover distortion in that configuration if you use different transistors on each channel.

Offline andy3055

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 07:26:22 am »