Author Topic: Replacing the transformer in a TV to convert its input voltage (120V to 220V)?  (Read 874 times)

Offline ToxotaiTopic starter

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, very limited electronics repair experience. Mostly just done mobile phone repairs that don't involve board-level repair.

So, basically I moved from the US to Spain some years ago, and since I was a bit short on cash and had some space in my bags, I miraculously shoved a 32" TV I'd kept in storage into luggage, threw it into a plane, and managed to get it to work after I got back to Madrid. However, I've had to plug it into a cheap voltage converter that I bought off Amazon a couple of years ago. It's been buzzing to high hell lately, and besides the annoyance of having to pay more money for a better inverter to get it to work, it also has zero resale value here in its current state.

So, basically, would it be possible to convert a non-dual-voltage TV's 120V PCB into a 220V by replacing the transformer inside? Would I also have to replace other components too, or does the power feed directly into the transformer, which then spits out 12V for all other operations on the board? For reference, it's a VIZIO D32h-C0, and I've attached a picture of what I believe is the same board. I haven't wanted to open up my TV to take a photo of it myself just yet, until I at least get confirmation from you guys that I'm not a moron for even trying.

Also, please don't tell me to buy a new TV. I'm going to buy a new TV. I'd like to just try this as a fun project.

Thanks.

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
Most practical would be to find out what voltages the internal power supply outputs and substitute an external power supply. If you're lucky, you'll be able to use a PC power supply for that.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.