Author Topic: My Tektronix 310 "Basket Case" Project  (Read 9789 times)

Offline SmokyTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
My Tektronix 310 "Basket Case" Project
« on: September 07, 2019, 12:38:06 am »
I found a Tektronix 310 oscilloscope at a garage sale a few weeks ago. It's in really bad shape and was going to be thrown out.

Even though I'm a beginner in the electronics hobby, I know we're going to bring this thing back to life!

I'm starting with a good cleaning since it's full of cobwebs and over 60 years worth of dirt.

The serial number stamped on the faceplate is 1499, and from what I can see, most of the tubes are dated 1956.

Let the fun begin :)

« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 03:21:20 am by Smoky »

The following users thanked this post: xrunner, sean0118, bd139, Chip

Offline xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
Re: My Tektronix 310 "Basket Case" Project
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2019, 12:44:34 am »
Cool deal Smokey, please keep the thread going so we can follow!  :popcorn:
I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2019, 01:38:36 am »
Will do Xrunner!

I didn't power-on the 310 because I could see bad tubes through the side panels. The tops of some of the tubes are white and two were cracked.

While I was slowly in the process of removing the heavy layer of "mold" from all of the wires, and when I made it to the HV board area, I noticed the same "white" area on a "5642" rectifier tube!

« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 03:26:16 am by Smoky »

The following users thanked this post: xrunner

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2019, 01:57:32 am »
While I'm moving along the interior of the 310, I'm checking resistors as I go.

Several of the resistors just on the HV board are out of tolerance. Most have silver bands (10%).