Author Topic: Synology NAS stopped working  (Read 6973 times)

Offline DChromeTopic starter

Synology NAS stopped working
« on: September 06, 2019, 01:30:04 pm »
Hi all,

I have Synology NAS DS-212, which stopped working after I moved to a new apartment.

I checked the power supply using a multimeter. It outputs 12.5V as required.
The fan attached to the board is spinning.

When I connect the board to the power source, the LED1 (status indicator) briefly blinks, then I hear some kind of click and nothing happens after that (except for the spinning fan).

I am a complete noob when it comes to troubleshooting electronics, so I am not sure what and how to troubleshoot. I was able to recover the RAID and the contents of the disks by connecting and configuring them on one of my servers. However, it would be great if I could revive the NAS, albeit I am not really sure that is something I could do even with an advice from an expert.

In any case, I'd really appreciate your help.
How should I approach this problem?

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
Re: Synology NAS stopped working
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2019, 02:16:23 pm »
I checked the power supply using a multimeter. It outputs 12.5V as required.
The fan attached to the board is spinning.
The first thing to suspect is always the power supply. Processor boards can often need a bit of a peak surge current on startup, and an ageing power supply may not be able to provide that surge without drooping too much. The trouble is it may look like the average DC voltage is fine. Also, this problem may not be obvious if the NAS is running continuously. You first see it when you finally shut it down and try to restart.

Do you have any other 12V supply you can try? You can also try loading the power supply to its full current rating and check the output voltage.

You can try the multimeter on AC volts on the 12V supply and see if you get a reading.

Richard.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2019, 02:23:04 pm by amspire »