Author Topic: Keithley 2400 SMU - Output + FET-temps  (Read 847 times)

Offline annieIOTopic starter

Keithley 2400 SMU - Output + FET-temps
« on: May 31, 2024, 08:40:32 pm »
Hello everyone,
this is my first time posting here :)

I just started populating my little bench of rescued devices, and so far I was quite lucky: most devices were quite easy to fix.

But I am stuck with my newest addition: a beautiful Keithley 2400 that is optically in a perfect condition - see some pictures I added down here.
I think it is quite interesting that there seems to be two botch resistors over Q232 and Q233, can anyone say something about them?

The actual problem I have with this unit is that the output seems to be enabled all the time: right after the unit is done with it's start up self test the voltage on the outputs reaches 92mv and I can measure a constant current of 222mA across the output terminals. Keep in mind that the output is still not turned on.

When I turn on the output, the 2400 displays an error stating that the compliance current exceeded the programmed value.... which is true I guess.
When other measurement or sourcing ranges are selected on the K2400 the output voltage increases up to 92V wich is a bit scary...

I disassembled the unit to the point shown in the pictures to rule out any obvious component failures. I was only able to notice that the two N-Chanel IRF630 FETs Q514 and Q516 are reaching *very* high temperatures (it starts to smell of hot components and IPA immediately boils off of it when dropped on it). 

My assumption at this point is that this FETs are always driven at their fullest, no matter the settings?
Since I am not able to find schematics for the analog board I'm not sure how to continue from here, am I not looking at the right places?
Can someone point me in a promising direction?

My unit runs on firmware 33 btw

Offline openloop

• Regular Contributor
Re: Keithley 2400 SMU - Output + FET-temps