Author Topic: Agilent E4402B Spectrum Analyzer Keypad Issue- Need Help - Updated Solved  (Read 569 times)

Offline RecursiveLogicTopic starter

Hi All... I'm new to the blog, and this is my first post. I recently acquired an Agilent E4402B Spectrum Analyzer. I am running version HP A.03.03 firmware, and I am unable to ESC out of the startup splash screen. I can only press the green preset key, which briefly changes the center channel from 1.5GHz to 750MHz, showing quick * next to the center channel next to the Frequency Menu. I am able to introduce a 10MHz signal, which shows up on the very left side of the screen and does vary based on power. I've examined the boards, and looked for potential issues, even thought I do believe this is a programmatic lockout. I've tried the System/Local key, and other keys with no visible indication of button push. No menus change, no action appears to happen, with the only exception is the preset key, as I stated above. Even the On and Standby buttons do not function in the current state. Finally, I see no indication of error outside of an expected message "System, Alignments, Align Now, All required" message.

Update: I've since attempted a firmware update, loading disk one, the unit stayed in white screen until the disk finished. I was unable to make a keypad entry on disk switch, and am now believing I have a bad A4 board (no blinking light, DS7, and DS13 remain lit) after troubleshooting for several hours. It is an early serial number unit.