Author Topic: I need help, I got connectors with the wrong Pitch for my board. :(  (Read 1517 times)

Offline bassmothershipTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi. Absolute beginner here (I can only solder :)).

I'm learning how to replace components on a 4-track multitrack cassette recorder (from the early 90's). Its two main boards were tied with little space between each other with these connectors (in the picture) which cannot be detached (I don't know what they're called, do you know their name?). So I disassembled and desoldered all of these headers to separate the two boards and access all components.

I saw someone mentioned JST-XH connectors as replacement for these machines on YT  :palm: , so I bought them (Housing: XPH-#-##, Header: B#B-XH-A and Connector: SXH-001T-0.6). I did it without knowing that there's something called PITCH size.  :palm: again...  The JST-XH connectors I've received come in 2.5mm pitch size and my board's pitch is 1.98mm.

It seems the JST-XH connector's pitch is only 2.5mm, I don't find any other size. Now, I have no clue how to know what connector is the right one for these boards.

Please, help.  :)
« Last Edit: May 31, 2024, 07:37:41 am by bassmothership »

Offline HwAoRrDk

• Super Contributor
The term for connectors that are soldered to the board but are not disconnectable is "board-in" connectors. They're an ease-of-manufacturing and reliability thing; more robust and easier-to-assemble than soldering wires directly to the PCB.

These look like they may be IDC (insulation displacement) "board-in" connectors, where the cables are punched in to the connector rather than having individual terminals crimped to each conductor wire and then inserted into the connector.

If you want to replace them with JST-style connectors that have 2mm pitch (and it probably is 2.0mm, as 1.98 is a very odd figure) then you want JST PH-series, not XH.

Online coromonadalix

• Super Contributor