Author Topic: Generic question - power supply failure  (Read 3690 times)

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Generic question - power supply failure
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2020, 09:42:49 am »
Very likely it's caps then or a faulty joint that's breaking down with heat.
For SMPS I generally focus around the controller IC particularly its VCC storage cap. They seem to drift way outta spec with age and go high ESR and/or low capacitance. Pull and measure is all you can do with these as they never show signs of degradation.

I'm really not an expert, but there are many IC's in this PSU...  as stated, it's not an ATX PSU, it's a custom design, that includes an ATX-compliant output, but there are 4 ATX-like connectors (1 ATX 20-pin, 1 22-pin, 1 18-pin, 1 16-pin).
So you're saying that regardless of their aspect, caps can be seriously out-of-specs ?? Not good... :o is there really no way to locate bad caps in a non-intrusive way ?? This PSU is far from simple and physically quite dense, desoldering all the electrolytics is gonna require a serious amount of time ! Is it possible from the picture above to identify 'more critical/suspect' caps to begin with ?
No, it's more by gut and experience where you go looking first.
Like any circuit some understanding of stress points narrows where to look. Most are well designed with conservative component values and of good quality however the bean counters are always trying to save a few cents therefore reliability suffers especially when crap caps are used.
I've seen PC mainboard caps so furking hot they would burn fingers and other caps so furked they're no longer measuring uF but pF !
Trouble with SMPS one end of them is rectified mains potential which in our case in NZ is ~325VDC which is not to be trifled with  :scared: yet the other end of the PCB is often at most 12VDC which I'll happily run fingers over to find hot spots.