Author Topic: Iota DSL-55 12V Battery Charger - How to test the trickle function?  (Read 795 times)

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
The title says it all... How can I test the function, without possibly boiling a good battery? (It has boiled two batteries, but their condition was v-e-r-y suspect.) I have lots of electronics test bench gear, but I am still a bit of a novice. Thank you for your help.

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: Iota DSL-55 12V Battery Charger - How to test the trickle function?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2021, 03:59:07 pm »
Bump...

I really do need help brainstorming how to test the charger's trickle function, without torturing a perfectly good battery. I did email the manufacturer, but they never responded.

I do have a DC CC Electronic Load, but it can only handle 30V/2A/60W. But, I would think that we are only talking about a minute load. Would just a draw of 1/4A trick the charger into thinking it was looking at a full battery? I would think that a charger would be monitoring voltage, not amps.

I also have lab PSUs. Just show the charger 14.4 volts? Have a DMM in series and see if the current draw drops?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2021, 03:54:35 pm »
Bump...

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2021, 11:55:52 pm »
Bump...

Offline floobydust

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2021, 03:27:20 am »
It's hard to tell what their firmware's criteria is for jumping to float or equalize charge states. That seems to exist only with the IQ4 controller option. The two-step voltage jack is just 13.6V or 14.2V
Since the charger does not know what size battery or bank is connected to it, it likely uses voltage, with current just telling it if the battery is connected. But sophisticated F/W looks for the current to fall as well.