Author Topic: East Tester 5410+ not drawing current.  (Read 981 times)

Offline Luv2LearnTopic starter

East Tester 5410+ not drawing current.
« on: September 16, 2024, 01:07:16 am »
I bought a ET 5410+ from a bin store. I got it home and doesn’t work. It reads voltage when I hook up a source to it but when I try to put a load on something it doesn’t work.  Just says 0 amps and watts and voltage stays same. I looked at the board and using a schematic from a member of this forum Morris6 I found some shorted resistors, 2 mosfets and a blown trace right by where the + side enters the pcb between p1 and p12.  If I jump the trace the load kicks on but no way to control it. No matter the setting it draws as many amps as it feels like. Even after the OC protection shows it still pulls current with the trace jumped. Could be more issues but I am not an expert and have only basic knowledge of electronics.  there is no noticeable burnt components on the board and it all looks perfect except the trace that is broke.
Is it worth trying to fix or are the possible problems deeper than the ocean?  I appreciate any help or advice from the brilliant members of this forum.

the schematics morris6 made are the zip file. the page I edited is testing I did so far with shorted resistor and mosfets in red.

I do have some troubleshooting tools. Multimeter, Soldering station with rework gun, DC power supplies, oscilloscope and a thermal image camera.

* ET5411Aplus-MAIN-Mosfet.pdf (751.2 kB - downloaded 35 times.)
* ET5411AplusSchematics.zip (827.77 kB - downloaded 31 times.)
« Last Edit: September 16, 2024, 02:44:04 am by Luv2Learn »

Offline MathWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: East Tester 5410+ not drawing current.
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2024, 07:03:44 pm »
So it's not brand new right ? As long as none of the controller IC's got damaged, it should be pretty repairable.

It's always a good idea to check the power supply section voltages. Was it Q10,11 and R112/113 that burned out ?