Author Topic: [Solved] BK Precision 1786 Programmable power supply - Limited to 0.4V and 0.02A  (Read 1164 times)

Offline mlefeTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi guys,
Yesterday I purchased this old BK model (capable of 30V and 3A) for only USD15.
After cleaning the contacts in the keypad (it wasn't responding), I thought that was it.
However, when I tried to set it to deliver more than 400mV or more than 20mA I got an "ERR" in the display and it fallback to those two figures.

Being a newbie, I've thought that this could be something related to the ADC, DACs or output OpAmps. After some measurements and some thought I concluded that this was software related.
I founded the EEPROM and started to play around a bit with it.

Using a TL866A (with the AT93C56 x16 chip selected) I was able to read the Atmel EEPROM and reverse engineer where the set voltage/current is stored, along with the 9 programmable outputs and, more importantly, where it stores the max allowable voltage and current.

It has a very simple structure where the numbers are recorded digit by digit (each byte is a digit) matching the display. It ignores the comma, and records the information in pairs (first voltage, then current) so:
* First 4 bytes represent the set voltage: 0104 means 10.4V (it only has 100mV resolution)
* The next 4 bytes represent the set current: 0002 means 0.02A (it only has 10mA resolution)
* Then you have the 9 pairs (of 8 bytes each, 4 for the voltage and 4 for the current) where the programmable memories are stored.
* I don't know what's next... I guess CAL data?
* In the picture you can see the position where the max voltage and current is stored (I'm sorry for the crappy pic): I've changed those numbers to 0300 (30V) and 0300 (3Amps) and it worked!