Author Topic: Charging by the hour is unfair!  (Read 10114 times)

Offline ifonlyeverything

• Regular Contributor
Re: Charging by the hour is unfair!
« Reply #100 on: July 05, 2024, 11:43:16 am »
NOBODY WANTS TO BUY YOUR LABOUR, THEY WANT TO BUY THE FRUITS OF YOUR LABOUR!  AND IF THERE ARE NO FRUITS, WHAT ARE YOU CHARGING THEM FOR?

Compensation for time spent analyzing the device and determining whether or not a repair is feasible. If the repair is feasible then it's customary for additional time to be billed for the repair. I'm not an engineer -- I work in professional services. Consultation fees are customary in many professional services with absolutely no guarantee of outcome. The client pays for an expert intake analysis which determines the path forward, if any. If the consultation is "at no cost" then it's baked into other services -- there's no such thing as a free lunch.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2024, 11:45:34 am by ifonlyeverything »

The following users thanked this post: tooki, fmashockie

Online vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
« Reply #101 on: July 05, 2024, 12:41:12 pm »
Final observation: the fact that you are calling the people in this thread sociopaths as you continue to 'like' every post made in opposition to you is also ironic.

It is not ironic!  "Liking" a post is my way of saying "thank you" to everyone who takes the time to contribute. And I am genuinely grateful, regardless of how vigorously we disagree. 

By the way, I didn't call anyone here a sociopath. I said that sociopaths "might feel comfortable" with the behaviour I was referring to because it showed a lack of empathy with the customer.  It's a way of drawing attention to what seems to me like extraordinary behaviour.

There is arrogance in this thread, but it has a singular source, and that source is you.
[/quote]