Author Topic: Asking for help on a blown channel on Pioneer SA-510  (Read 5958 times)

Offline Dan75Topic starter

• Contributor
Re: Asking for help on a blown channel on Pioneer SA-510
« Reply #25 on: October 30, 2021, 07:09:49 pm »
Hi Andy, I do have a scope but never used it. As I am fairly new with electronics, that is road I haven't taken yet.
Not sure if the things works, never tried it out. Found it on a flea-market a few years back.
It is this this one:

Offline andy3055

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: October 30, 2021, 11:41:05 pm »
Wow! That looks pretty old! You may want to power it up and see.

Offline Wallace Gasiewicz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: October 31, 2021, 11:16:18 am »
Unfortunately your scope has only one channel, Harder  to compare with the other channel, you have to just move the probe and remember what the trace was. But it should be really nice for audio work..
15 MHz is just fine for audio. This type of scope is probably better for audio purposes than the newer digitizing ones, I have both types.I would take the cover off first and just look for anything obviously bad first.
You should probably get a cheap 10X probe though, if it fires up without smoke. I like to power old stuff up in the garage in case a big cap goes bang! If you have an auto transformer, you could "warm" the thing up slowly starting with half volts and increasing voltage every five min or so.
If you get any trace on the screen then get a probe and attach it to the Probe Adjust Lug, you should get a square wave on the screen.

Just my opinion, maybe I am wrong about this but:
If the final transistors go in an amp, they usually go in a big way, usually they burn up. So no output at all. They are also hard to replace, since they need to be matched and the equivalent transistors might not be exactly like the originals and especially may require different bias. So maybe the fault is not in the final transistors. (Hopefully)
Wally

• Contributor