Author Topic: Agilent 3458A repair  (Read 14066 times)

Offline franklinTopic starter

• Contributor
Agilent 3458A repair
« on: March 07, 2020, 01:53:28 pm »
Hi. This is my first time on this forum so I may be making some mistakes.

I just got an Agilent 3458A very cheap and I knew it had an error. The unit is from 2013. After switch-on this happens:

Switch-on: ERROR 110   CALIBRATION REQUIRED -- ACAL

ACAL:   ERROR 205   HARDWARE FAILURE, TEST VALUE OUT OF RANGE: 108
           ERROR 210   CALIBRATION REQUIRED
           ERROR 101   CALIBRATION ERROR

I left the meter ON for a few hours with a 10 VDC reference connected and it showed approximately 7.8 V. At some instance it started to display correct voltage (10 V) which lasted for about 30 minutes when the display reverted to 7.8 V. Reversing input leads to -10 V displays -9,25 V.

I’ve checked the most obvious, the voltages to PCB A1 and they are +5, -18.5, +18.3, and -9.9 VDC. I’m thinking the error is caused by A1 (A1 manufactured 2013) after reading TIN’s work but I’m very much in need for advice where to start. I have only a DVM as tool to help. DCI and OHMS are not working properly, that is the values are not right. I believe there must be a common denominator. By the way, meter temperature is 7 degrees; obviously way off.

I’d be grateful if someone could put me on the right track.
Thanks

Offline TiN

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
Re: Agilent 3458A repair
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2020, 02:41:06 pm »
What about self-test?
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Let's share T&M documentation? Upload! No upload limits for firmwares, photos, files.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2020, 09:37:57 am »
The selftest at switch-on displays this:    

TESTING RAM
ACAL DCV, OHMS R
TESTING HARDWARE
ERR is on, ERR 110, “CALIBRATION REQUIRED – ACAL”

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2020, 10:24:02 am »