Author Topic: (Custom-made) DMM (MM834?) Repair attempt - help and advice needed  (Read 379 times)

Offline kblueTopic starter

• Contributor
Greetings!

I've got myself in trouble :D This seems to be a "custom made" unit without schematics and stuff (or nothing i am aware of). This unit has 4 modules (DC power supply, DMM, WoW&Flutter/Speed monitor, frequency gen (in steps 80 Hz to 14 kHz)).
The whole thing was tinkered with before i got it. The DC power supply seems to be working now. There was one bad filter cap and bad pot for voltage adjustment. But the DMM part is driving me nuts, i'm not an expert in such things and how they (should) work.

I know every pot is kinda messed with and i need some sort of "plan" what to do. I already checked and adjusted the voltages -5, +5, +12 and all seems to be okay now. The "ADC" board, consisting of a C520D (AD2020 copy) and BCD stuff works as expected. I was able to find some documents regarding the C520D with a nearly identical board as the one in this unit and how to "null" it and stuff. So all is fine and dandy here. A 900 mVDC input at pin 11 shows as +900 and -90 mVDC input shows -90 at front. As soon as i connect the ADC-Board back to the bigger board, everything is kinda messed up. I don't think its "messed up" because of broken parts. I know someone in the past was tinkering with every trimmer. If it's working again, this should be a gift for someone starting with electronics. Having a simple DMM, DC power and stuff would be a good start.

Main concern is eg. all the trimmers from VR1 to VR8. For example: VR1, 2, 3 and 4 are all 10k trimmer and connected to the opamps (TL080) pin 1 (N1/COMP) and pin 5 (OFFSET N2) with a pair of 47k resistors. I know all of them are tinkered with.

Area 3 for example, the single pot there changes the mA Output if i am in the Ohms-Range. Right now, pressing "ohms" and "1" (1k says the print at front while in ohms range) the output is 1 mA (1.000) between Hi and Lo.