Author Topic: Why does it overshoot 600mV every time? (Control loop stuff)  (Read 4058 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Why does it overshoot 600mV every time? (Control loop stuff)
« on: November 23, 2016, 11:36:48 pm »
I seriously don't know what I'm doing wrong. The circuit was inspired by prasimix's lab power supply and it's almost identical apart from the power stage and a few more things. Quick link to the original schematic here.

EDIT: I forgot to change the power transistors to TIP3055 and a few resistor values for the AC analysis but the results are the same.

I've also attached the LTspice .asc files.

« Last Edit: November 23, 2016, 11:47:16 pm by void_error »
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Re: Why does it overshoot 600mV every time? (Control loop stuff)
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2016, 01:09:26 am »
Try adding some esr to your output cap.
It just makes things worse. Did a parametric sweep at 1V output with 1u 1m 10m 100m ESR values and the first three yield roughly the same result. With 100m the overshoot gets worse as well as the undershoot.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2016, 01:31:14 am »
Increasing the output cap value to 1000u reduces the overshoot by 200mV. Even with an ESR of zero it's still 400mV regardless of the set output voltage. I wouldn't be surprised if the overshoot only happens in simulation.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2016, 02:27:41 am »
As far as I understand from the original schematic it's supposed to smooth out the transition between CV and CC modes and it seems to do that. I tweaked the values over many iterations. In the simulations I posted above only the CV loop is active, the current limit is set to 8A.