Author Topic: where does 1/2 come from in capacitor energy calculation  (Read 4922 times)

Offline browntTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
where does 1/2 come from in capacitor energy calculation
« on: July 12, 2018, 05:12:02 am »
Hi,

where does 1/2 come from with the 1/2CV2 calculation for energy in a capacitor?

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: where does 1/2 come from in capacitor energy calculation
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2018, 05:36:44 am »
Hi,

where does 1/2 come from with the 1/2CV2 calculation for energy in a capacitor?

integration!

The following users thanked this post: NiHaoMike, nugglix

Offline GregDunn

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2018, 05:37:59 am »
When you integrate C*V wrt V you get 1/2 CV2.  Simple as that.

Offline intabits

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2018, 01:09:55 pm »
(similar for kinetic energy: E=1/2MV^2, And I think I've seen another one for some other form of energy)

see here: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electric/capeng2.html#c3
(You may need to click the "show more" hypertext)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2018, 02:53:06 pm »
The more interesting question is, where does half the energy go when charging a capacitor ;D

« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 02:55:20 pm by EEVblog »

Offline tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2018, 03:11:17 pm »
And where does the energy go with the two capacitor paradox.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Two_capacitor_paradox

Online Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2018, 03:31:36 pm »
You can and often will charge a capacitor with at least 95% efficiency, especially when it comes to large capacitors used for energy storage.