Author Topic: Unstable Linear Voltage Regulator  (Read 10003 times)

Offline laingalionTopic starter

• Contributor
Unstable Linear Voltage Regulator
« on: January 03, 2014, 03:43:07 am »
This is my first attempt at a H-Bridge amplifier... and electronics in general.

My application is very specific and I am drawing a lot of power, 25+ amps RMS at 15V from a lithium battery at roughly 20 kHz.
Earlier tests went well but I tried to draw more current and the battery voltage became unstable. This translated to a huge ripple on the 5V control side (see attachments)
Disregard the value of the regulator in the schematic, I used it because it had the same footprint. What I am actually using is a 7805:
http://www.newark.com/stmicroelectronics/l7805c-v/ic-linear-voltage-regulator-5v/dp/89K1378
I also have a 4.7mF capacitor at the battery terminals, that helped a lot.

I can limit the amount of current draw so that the battery voltage does not go unstable, but I was curious as to how to prevent such a huge distortion on the 5V side of a regulator.
I read in the datasheet that a resistor on the input would help but I don't think it would help THAT much.
Is there some unstable feedback happening with the regulator when it tries to regulate itself?

A very beginner question, bare with me and thanks in advance.

Offline Jay_Diddy_B

• Super Contributor
Re: Unstable Linear Voltage Regulator
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 04:55:46 am »
Hi,

You can try this:

1) Increase the value of C1 to 100uF or 220uF Low ESR 105C Electrolytic capacitor.

2) Add a ceramic capacitor  between pins 1 & 2 on the regulator. The capacitor should be physically close to the regulator IC.

I would try these first.

Regards,

Jay_Diddy_B

Online Andreas

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2014, 05:32:21 am »

Is there some unstable feedback happening with the regulator when it tries to regulate itself?

A very beginner question, bare with me and thanks in advance.