Author Topic: Storing high speed data  (Read 1889 times)

Offline RainwaterTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Storing high speed data
« on: September 03, 2023, 12:10:30 am »
Good day everyone

About me
I've been an industrial electrician specializing in construction and troubleshooting motor controls, plc, sensing arrays and networking of production line equipment.(percision mixers, injection molding, welders, quality control appratus) for 3 decades. Im experienced c programmer, and physics student who is currently obsessed with chemical engineering (not making chemicals but making stuff to make and test compounds).

I am an intermediate/amateur in building custom pcb's and arduino level projects to run different gadgets and gizmos i dream up. Ive made 70-80 pcb projects over the last 10 years with a DIY cnc

Currently I am using a cheap second hand 50mhz bandwidth spectrum analyzer to recreate a project demonstrated by the youtube channel applied science. Needless to say, my success is limited by my technology
The video in trying to reproduce can be seen here
I wish to recreate some of the functionality of his scope, without the multi thousand dollar price tag. My first idea is to record the data points, then send them to a pc, where I can process the results in software. Eventually I would like to be able to generate a frequency spectrum for use as NMR spectroscopy.

developing and constructing analog front-end at this level is a new step for me and I am not experienced in designing high speed systems. But have been studying layout and timing considerations associated with these systems, and learning the basic of ddr memory. Learned enough to know I need to use an MIG from the manufacturer.

This board will be beyond my abilities to print as the bga layout is to small for my equipment, so I will finally have an excuse to order a custom board from a manufacturer.