Author Topic: PCB Top and Bottom pour - GND and VCC  (Read 15053 times)

Offline elcrniTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PCB Top and Bottom pour - GND and VCC
« on: March 20, 2021, 11:09:35 pm »
hi guys,

I've been working on a custom PCB design for the past few weeks, months long hobby project for decoding and analysing atomic clock radio signal and displaying various data on 7 segment displays. PCB is going to be cca 35x40cm. Now i've been using EAGLE for a couple of years now but nothing of this size and so many MAX7219 ICs, and as i am close to finish the PCB design, i am not sure about the top/bottom pour... so the question is: should i/can i have one layer as GND pour and another as VCC (+5V) and would that be a smart idea... not sure about interference with MAX7219 lines, noise or whatever else, OR should i go with 2x GND layer and then just route the 5V signal where needed (needed on a lot of places on PCB)

Is it a usual routine/common practice to have GND and Voltage pours as 2 layers or i should always use GND on both.

Most of the components are SMD so there will be lots of vias anyway, which ever way i go on this one.

Many thanks for any help,
Alek
« Last Edit: March 20, 2021, 11:43:29 pm by elcrni »

Online tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
Re: PCB Top and Bottom pour - GND and VCC
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2021, 11:46:58 pm »
You can do it either way, it's not going to make too much difference.
The usual way to handle this is to use 4 layer boards, with inner planes dedicated to power and ground.
Why this is expensive for 1-2 boards, in quantity, this increases PCB price by about 50%, so a 2 EUR board becomes 3 EUR. And it passes EMC testing unlike the 2 layers boards.

Just keep in mind that eagle is a terrible software, and it won't give you any warning if you have a pour that's disconnected or hair thin.
So route both signals everywhere, with tracks. Then pour it.