Author Topic: PC game crashes when mains voltage fluctuates suddenly  (Read 1031 times)

Offline drummerdimitriTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
PC game crashes when mains voltage fluctuates suddenly
« on: April 27, 2020, 09:25:02 pm »
So I recently started playing Dota 2 and sometimes when the mains voltage swings a bit more than it should, the game crashes!

My computer is connected to a UPS which in turn is connected to a voltage regulator (servo) but it needs about half a second to adjust the voltage which obviously isn't fast enough and I lose the game.

One would think the entire PC would crash but I can most of the time force the task to end and re-launch the application but I would like to know if there's a way to regulate the voltage in a faster way so that this doesn't happen again.

I have a theory regarding this though: I am realizing that this happens usually a bit after I lose power and the generator comes on which is no big deal as the UPS deals with the power outage without any issue, the game freezes a few minutes later as the neighbourhood's appliances start powering up back again pulling current in a non linear way which causes large voltage drops hence the fluctuations that are sometimes maybe too severe for my computer's PSU to handle.

Would some kind of power switch with a delay function help in this case? Maybe one that I can time from 1-10 minutes perhaps? The voltage would have regulated enough by then so when the UPS comes back online, it will not have to endure large voltage changes  :-//

Not sure if such devices exist but if they do, I think that would be the best and cheapest alternative. Only disadvantage there would be the increased cycles on the external batteries but since they can run the system for over an hour, 10 minutes shouldn't be a problem.

How about a large bank of high voltage CAPs? wouldn't that also work by smoothing out the peaks and troughs?

Offline Whales

• Super Contributor
    • Halestrom