Author Topic: Oscillation in PSU simulation  (Read 4181 times)

Offline ElectronSurfTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Oscillation in PSU simulation
« on: April 17, 2020, 08:36:34 am »
Hi, I'm a hobbyist and trying to "design" a lab PSU;

I tried adding RC filter between inverting and output of both op amp with different values (trial and error) but haven't had any luck getting it to not oscillating, before giving up thought maybe you guys can point me at right direction.

Connecting the inverting input of the op amp (voltage feedback) directly to the output stops the oscillation but still oscillates in CC mode, but connecting it to the differential op amp which measures the voltage causes oscillation both in CC and CV mode.

Is it a bug in the simulator? how can I stabilize the output?

Link to the simulator: http://tinyurl.com/yancfgls
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 08:39:15 am by ElectronSurf »

Online xavier60

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscillation in PSU simulation
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 08:48:57 am »
Just a capacitor between output and inverting input of the CV op-amp should work. 10nF should be overkill. Then reduce it.
Maybe the same for the CC side.
HP 54645A dso, Fluke 87V dmm,  Agilent U8002A psu,  FY6600 function gen,  Brymen BM857S, HAKKO FM-204, New! HAKKO FX-971.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2020, 08:59:23 am »
You can click on the simulator link and try it yourself, it doesn't fix it...

Online xavier60

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 09:19:45 am »
A resistor is needed in series with the inverting input of the CC op-amp for a compensating capacitor to be effective.
I was seeing large amounts of noise on the scope. It cleared up after I removed and added the scope again.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 09:21:31 am by xavier60 »
HP 54645A dso, Fluke 87V dmm,  Agilent U8002A psu,  FY6600 function gen,  Brymen BM857S, HAKKO FM-204, New! HAKKO FX-971.

• Regular Contributor