Author Topic: Picking correct varistor and caps for in-wall power supply based HLK-PM01?  (Read 2149 times)

Offline WookbertTopic starter

I'm an electronics NOOB, working on my very first own PCB. The attached layout and schematic shows a triple-fused in-wall power supply (supposed to fit into an enclosure for a 60 mm diameter standard EU backbox). Next to the 100-240V PSU, which is either a Hi-Link HLK-PM01 (5V, 0.6 A) or a Hi-Link HLK-PM03 (3.3V, 1A) sits in this case a Wemos D1 mini ESP8266 module.

My questions are as follows (sorry for asking that many):

F1 - Subminiature fuse
Because of the very limited space I chose a subminiature instead of a classic glass fuse.
I'm considering two options: 250V, 200 mA, time-lag but different breaking capacity
a) 35A (Eska 883.010)
b) 130A (Eska 883.110)
See attached data sheet for details. Which one to pick?

MOV - Varistor
I have too little understanding on how to pick the correct varistor in terms of ratings and specifically size (S07, 10, 14 or 20??). Can you tell me which one to pick from the Epcos range of disc varistors?

C1/C2 - Caps
A found these output capacitors in a comparable schematic, where C1 was 0.1µF and C2 10µF. I intend to pick the following two
C1: Würth Electrolytic capacitor 0.1 µF 50 V 20 % (Ø x H) 5 mm x 11 mm
C2: Würth Electrolytic capacitor 10 µF 16 V 20 % (Ø x H) 5 mm x 11 mm
I'm a bit concerning here regarding the voltage. According to what I've learned caps with higher voltage rating last longer, but if the rating is significantly higher than what’s actually used, it can cause ESR problems. I can't find C1 (0.1µF) however in less than 50V.

So is the combination of these two caps in terms of both µF and voltage OK?

Finally: Ground-area in PCB or not?