Author Topic: My Dad's Vintage Hi-Fi Fisher Amplifier KX-100 / KX60 Tuner  (Read 11176 times)

Offline joeqsmithTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: My Dad's Vintage Hi-Fi Fisher Amplifier KX-100
« Reply #50 on: October 06, 2023, 03:23:39 am »
On the audio channel I linked, some of these guys will polish the entire chassis, tube shields, knobs....   My dad's will continue to just look like a nice old amp.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: October 07, 2023, 02:51:35 pm »
Buffed out the case and inserted the grill.  Using natural resources, even though it's just particle board and plywood, it's a pain to work with.  Wood doesn't take same the stain throughout the surface.  You can use some treatments but blah.  Then grain structure reflects light differently.   In this case, 90% of the stain on top is original.  Blending stains is somewhat like trying to match paints.  I am not very good at it.   

The strings that hold the box lid up are also 60+ years old.

I've been listening to the amplifier for a few days now.   It's getting a good workout and not showing any new problems yet. 

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2023, 03:12:45 pm »
The amplifier still has not been buttoned up.   When running it for several hours, I noticed that the power transformer gets fairly warm to the touch.  I have nothing to gauge it on.   Our AC mains is running 122-123V.  Seems when I was growing up with my analog meter, the mains was around 110.  How accurate that old meter was, or my memory, hard to say.   They spec'ed the amplifier to run from 120-105, or 112.5 +/-7%ish.  Seems tight.  They claim 160W draw, guessing full volume.  They fuse it at 3.2A, slo-blo.  Still has the original fuse.