Author Topic: Measuring FULL 20V on Arduino without Voltage Dividers  (Read 2460 times)

Offline techoyakiTopic starter

Measuring FULL 20V on Arduino without Voltage Dividers
« on: August 30, 2021, 08:36:31 pm »
Hi everyone,

I recently worked on a video on how to use a circuit named Quantizer to measure up to 20V on the Arduino. Note that there are no voltage dividers used (i.e., no resolution lost on the ADC). Here is the video if you're interested in checking out the circuit and learning the concept behind the Quantizer:

Sources on where I got the idea from are also provided in the description. :)

The following users thanked this post: RoGeorge

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Measuring FULL 20V on Arduino without Voltage Dividers
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2021, 08:38:47 pm »
Hi everyone,

I recently worked on a video on how to use a circuit named Quantizer to measure up to 20V on the Arduino. Note that there are no voltage dividers used (i.e., no resolution lost on the ADC). Here is the video if you're interested in checking out the circuit and learning the concept behind the Quantizer:

Why would a voltage divider (or a buffer amplifier with gain less than unity) "lose resolution" on the ADC?

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2021, 08:45:59 pm »
Sorry, I should've been more descriptive. :(

The most common method to measure any signal that is above operating voltage of an Arduino (i.e., above 5V) is to use a voltage divider for the signal before going into the ADC. However, you would inherently lose resolution of the original signal assuming you wanted to measure the full-scale voltage of the original signal before going into the voltage divider. The video provides explanation on how much ADC points you would lose if you were to reduce an 18V signal by a factor of 4 to make it 4.5V.

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2021, 09:25:43 pm »