Author Topic: Measure flash duration with a Photodiode and Transimpedance Amp  (Read 2326 times)

Offline nightfireTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Measure flash duration with a Photodiode and Transimpedance Amp
« on: February 14, 2021, 09:56:12 pm »
After hopefully completing my small home lab by end of the month, my first project will be to build some measuring device geared towards measuring the burn duration of a camera flash.
Some other folks have done this already:

Background: I am a hobby photographer that dives deep in the technology behind all that lighting stuff to get a better and deeper understanding of the limits of the gear used.
(Ok, and I have official certification to work on live electric circuits up to 1000V AC, and also can do security checking of appliances- but the world of electronics is something I want to dive deeper into)
For freezing moving objects the overall burn duration is crucial, also if you do things like high-speed-sync of flash and camera shutter (Supersync/Hypersync) to work around the limitations of the highspeed strobe of HSS you really need to know the characteristics of your gear...

To my understanding, we are talking about 2 crucial parts of this measurement technique:
a) the photodiode itself and its rise time
b) the quality of the (transimpedance) amplifier to present voltage to the oscilloscope, that also has a rise time delay that adds to the delay of the photodiode

Later, when breadboarding is finished and I have solid impression of the tolerances, the whole stuff shall get soldered onto a PCB.

Questions here:
- I stumbled upon some PCB for individual projects: https://www.pollin.de/p/platine-universal-operationsverstaerker-390078  - are those any good, or are there some other (and maybe better) options?
- Are there maybe ready-made PCB available, where I just put in my Photodiode and am ready to go? (Of course, being affordable below the 50 €€€ mark...)