Author Topic: Is this ftdi ft232 circuit correctly made?  (Read 1474 times)

Offline tesliniusTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Is this ftdi ft232 circuit correctly made?
« on: August 22, 2021, 10:27:45 pm »
I have a project where i will use ftdi ft232 chip for uart communication, microcontroller is stm32f103frct6 3.3v, it's my first time using this chip so i just wanted to make sure if i correctly made the circuit?, the only thing i'm not sure about is whether i should supply it with 3.3v or 5v and if i need a voltage level shifter for rx/tx pins and if i should also connect dp2 /dn2 pins to corresponding ones for typec connector to work in both ways?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 10:29:22 pm by teslinius »

Online oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
Re: Is this ftdi ft232 circuit correctly made?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2021, 11:00:34 pm »
Both sets of DP/DN must be connected for cables to work in either orientation. The CC pins should each be connected to a 5.1k resistor to ground to ensure it will work with a USB-C host. Connect Vccio to 3V3out to get 3.3V logic levels compatible with the STM32. Consider using the FT230X - it is less than half the price.

Online Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2021, 11:05:41 pm »
For RS-232, you need a MAX232 or similar level shifter for the TX/RX pins and both the FT232 and MAX232 should be supplied from +5 V.

Offline magic

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2021, 06:14:42 am »
Yeah, but OP isn't doing RS-232 :P

It looks like you may be trying to connect TX-TX and RX-RX. Typically, TX is the pin that transmits bits and RX is the one that receives, so you want to connect TX-RX, RX-TX unless your particular MCU's pins are labeled weird.

Online Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2021, 10:08:22 am »

Then why does he ask about TX/RX level shifters?

Online mikerj

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2021, 11:43:56 am »