Author Topic: I want an opinion on this boost converter 5 volt to 50 volt  (Read 404 times)

Offline alexaamndaTopic starter

I want an opinion on this boost converter 5 volt to 50 volt
« on: August 06, 2024, 08:42:13 pm »
Is this circle worth developing, knowing that I am a beginner?

https://i.postimg.cc/7hGrG92w/Screenshot-2024-08-06-185557.png

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: I want an opinion on this boost converter 5 volt to 50 volt
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2024, 09:02:04 pm »
30 milli Henry , 5000 uF capacitors ... why?

Do you even need to connect so many leds in series?  Your input is 5v, just have three leds at a time in series with a current limiting resistor.  or use a step-up led driver to boost 5v to 12-24v. Parallel a bunch of groups of leds in series. ex 8 groups of  4 leds in series  paralleled.

Offline PGPG

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2024, 11:29:24 pm »
Is this circle worth developing, knowing that I am a beginner?

Each circuit you try to make working makes you learning and thanks to this being less and less beginner :)

I would start first from trying to make 5V->12V converter.

Online peter-h

• Super Contributor
  • Doing electronics since the 1960s...
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2024, 06:27:08 am »
It is easy to go 5V to 50V with a flyback design (I use it a lot) but the above circuit won't work. You need a pulse generator, with a variable duty cycle, to control the output voltage, and some means of feedback. Or you can vary the pulse frequency but the control loop gets messy.

However LED drivers are not constant-voltage. They are constant-current or "constant energy rate".
Z80 Z180 Z280 Z8 S8 8031 8051 H8/300 H8/500 80x86 90S1200 32F417

The following users thanked this post: alexaamnda

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2024, 08:19:53 am »
Like peter-h wrote this won't work as there is no oscillator to be seen.