Author Topic: GPSDO question  (Read 8029 times)

Offline brian_mkTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
GPSDO question
« on: May 22, 2023, 04:57:36 pm »
I bought a used Racal 1998 counter (eBay of course).
It has the OCXO option. I'd like to check/calibrate it.

I am a retired engineer / hobbyist with a very limited budget.
The counter has 9 digits, so it would be nice to check if the least sig digit is accurate.
For example: 10,000,000.0 Hz to within +/- 0.1Hz. i.e about 1 in 10^8.
Is that too ambitious?

Naturally I started investigating GPSDOs.
I could buy a Chinese one on eBay for about £150.
Then I thought it might be an interesting project to try and construct something.

There are a lot of designs and ideas on the internet.
Some are more than I need / too complex / too expensive / too time consuming.
I am not a time nut looking for ultimate precision.
I don't really want to spend a lot of time / effort / expense with complex designs involving uPs & software.

I have a GPS receiver with a Neo-6M salvaged from a crashed drone I found in a hedge :-)
It still works and produces a 1PPM signal, so I figure I should be able to make use of it.

I found this easy to understand semi-digital/semi-analogue design:-

http://techlib.com/electronics/GPSstandard.htm

My questions to the experts...
"Would this design meet my requirements?"
"Are there any obvious limitations / problems I should be aware of?"

One concern is the analogue loop filter that uses a 66M Ohm resistor. Surely not good in humid conditions?

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
Re: GPSDO question
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2023, 09:54:55 pm »
10^8 isn't unrealistic. It's a bit close to bed time to go into detail, but irrc, with a USB serial adaptor and the appropriate S/W from the u-blox site, it's possible to set the timepulse output to anywhere between 0.25Hz and 10MHz.