Author Topic: Need help with 433mhz tx-rx module project  (Read 5168 times)

Offline victorTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Boy who writes code and take things apart
    • vitim.us
Need help with 433mhz tx-rx module project
« on: July 07, 2013, 07:52:32 pm »
Hi there,

First of all I would like to say, that I'm a beginner in electronics, I watch the eevblog on youtube every single week, for quite a while.

I built a pretty basic schematic myself, and not surprisingly it works but not as expected since I built it myself. lol

I'm using a pair of RX-TX 433mhz modules, for a IR remote extender. It works, it transmit data and the receiver just repeat the data transmitted. The problem, whenever the transmitter is not sending any data, the receiver part keeps picking noise.

This part works just fine

RX module keeps receiving noise.

I tried adding 10k and 4.7k pull-down resistor to the data-out pin, without any success. mesuring with a multimeter there's a voltage floating around 1.8~2.8volts.
But the datasheet says

Data High | +200uA | Typical Vcc
Data Low | -10uA | Max 0.3v

I need help.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2013, 07:57:15 pm by victor »
your body is limited, but not your mind

Offline David_AVD

• Super Contributor
Re: Need help with 433mhz tx-rx module project
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 10:44:44 pm »
The random noise on the output (when not receiving a signal) is normal for an OOK receiver.  Your decoding will have to deal with it.

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 05:10:14 am »
The ISM bands are shared, and when the FCC says "this device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation", they mean it.

Offline kizzap

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 06:29:12 am »
What exactly is that 555 timer supposed to be doing? The Trigger, Threshold and discharge look like they do nothing at all.... shouldn't there be a voltage source there somewhere?