Author Topic: Generating ~500Khz pulses?  (Read 5402 times)

Offline ThingsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Laser Geek
    • NQLasers
Generating ~500Khz pulses?
« on: July 09, 2013, 02:12:03 pm »
Hi all, I'm mucking around with the cool little AS3935 lightning sensor IC, however being in the middle of winter, storms are a bit hard to come by up here. 

AMS sell a dev kit for this chip, which includes a little board that lets you emulate various noise and lightning strikes, however it's $240, and I've already got the IC wired up and running.

From what I can see, it just has a basic uC and a DAC, and some sort of antenna. The chip says it's frequency detection is around 500Khz, so I'm trying to figure out a way of basically copying the operation of that board. Could anyone help me out/point me in the right direction? I've never done any RF stuff before, so I haven't got a clue where to start.

Dan

Offline richard.cs

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics engineer from Southampton, UK.
    • Random stuff I've built (mostly non-electronic and fairly dated).
Re: Generating ~500Khz pulses?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 03:02:25 pm »
I suspect the 500 kHz is a bit misleading - to detect lightning it will be looking for impulse events which have a broad frequency spectrum. I would suspect you can trigger it on many kinds of electrical transients - do you just want to verify it works?

Stick it next to an inductive electrical appliance like a motor and switch it on/off a few times, it'll probably think there's a lightning strike when you switch off. If it doesn't (and still picks up real lightning strikes) then it must do some interesting filtering in software. Other things to try triggering it with are camera flashes / strobe lights, car ignition circuits, etc. Anything that produces a fast-rising pulse, naturally since these are all weaker than lightning it'll need to be much closer.

Offline madshaman

• Frequent Contributor
  • ego trans insani