Author Topic: Lab Grade Instrumentation Amplifier - DIY or Buy A Chip?  (Read 1409 times)

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Lab Grade Instrumentation Amplifier - DIY or Buy A Chip?
« on: July 15, 2024, 02:28:34 am »
My Background = Self-taught hobbyist with significant knowledge gaps, due to only studying what interests me. I have good skills... KiCad, ordering boards and soldering them up. I also have a really good hobbyist lab and can test most things.

I love to DIY my own EE bench tools. A Three-Op-Amp Instrument Amplifier design looks easy enough. However, it appears that there are all-in-one ICs that have better spec's than what I would end up with, if I built it, myself. Of course, there is the joy of learning and the satisfaction of building. But, the circuit is so straight forward that I think I have learned what there is to know. IMO, a chip price of say $20 would be worth it, for true lab-grade spec's. So, DIY, or Buy, and Why? If buy, what chip do you suggest? It could include more advanced features/techniques, of course. Thanks!!!

Offline Sensorcat

• Regular Contributor
  • Freelance Sensor Consultant
    • Sensorberatung
Re: Lab Grade Instrumentation Amplifier - DIY or Buy A Chip?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2024, 03:00:52 am »
If you enjoy to DIY the 3-OpAmp instrumentation amplifier, do it!

If you need it for another project to work, as a component of that project, it is wiser to find an integrated instrumentation amplifier. For help which one to choose, you must provide detail on your requirements.

Offline moffy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2024, 03:02:15 am »